I Heart Music: The Wedding Edition

Ultimate wedding songs

Last week we celebrated 8 years of marriage. In case you missed the post, you can read it here.

So all week I’ve been listening to our wedding playlist… reminiscing and all that.

Music is such an important part of a wedding, for us it was right up there at the top of the list. I wasn’t too bridezilla precious about the cake or the table decorations, but the music HAD to be perfect! We had so much fun picking out the songs for all our special ‘moments’. It was hard to choose because we wanted them all, but in the end we went with these:

  • Walking down the isle song: ‘Happy Ever After In Your Eyes’ by Ben Harper
  • Signing the registry song: ‘God Only Knows’ by The Beach Boys
  • After ceremony songs: ‘Somewhere Over the Rainbow’ by Isreal Kamakawiwo’ole and ‘all you need is love’ by The Beatles
  • Entrance to reception: ‘Hey Ya’ by Outcast
  • Cutting of the cake: ‘What a wonderful world’ by Louis Armstrong
  • First dance: ‘Blowers Daughter’ by Damien Rice
  • Exit song: ‘Float On’ by Modest Mouse
Lyrics from one of our fave songs 'The Luckiest' by Ben Folds

Lyrics from one of our all time fave songs ‘The Luckiest’ by Ben Folds

We gave all our Wedding guests a CD with our special songs and a heap of our other faves {It seems funny talking about CD’s these days, but its so what you did 8 years ago}. Its amazing how often friends say to us things like ‘god we love your wedding album, we still listen to it all the time’. Gosh it makes me happy when I hear that! So I thought I’d share it with you too. {embedded playlist below}

And because you can never have too much wedding music, I also put together the Ultimate Wedding Songs playlist, with input from you wonderful people via social media this week. I loved listening to all your special songs, it really made me want to tie the knot all over again {to the same guy of course}.

So here they are! Follow the playlists on Spotify and pop them on if you’re feeling romantic over the long week end, or if you just want to feel happy and fall in love all over again! So much happiness here! Old classics, modern picks and everything in between {just no Celine Dion, sorry, I just can’t deal!}.

S&C’s Wedding Album Playlist

The Ultimate Wedding Songs Playlist

Married? I’d love to hear what your special songs were so I can add them to the Ultimate Wedding Songs playlist. Not married, what are your fave happy love songs? Tell me in the comments below.

  • Walking down the isle song:
  • Signing the registery song:
  • After ceremony song:
  • Entrance to reception:
  • Cutting of the cake:
  • First dance:
  • Exit song:

Shannon_Colour_Transparent

Follow my2morrows on facebook

10 thoughts on “I Heart Music: The Wedding Edition

  1. We did the CD thing too. Actually just went to look at it on my iTunes account and IT’S GONE!! Whaaaaa! But I remember these.
    Walking down the isle song: The Wedding Song – Angus & Julia Stone
    After ceremony song: Dream Catch Me – Newton Faulkner
    First dance: Lovely Day – Donavon Frakenrieter

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wedding songs are so meaningful hey! Garanteed to bring a tear.
    Walked down the isle – Message to my girl (Split Enz song due to my kiwi background by Enzso – NZ symphany orchstra, loads of guests were sobbing, Farmer didn’t recognise song – classic)
    Signed our lives away to Beautiful Day – U2 and Life is better with you – Eskimo Joe
    Walked back in the room – Black Betty (Underbelly was very big on Tv at the time)
    Cut the Cake – That’s Amore
    Bridal waltz – You make lovin fun – Fleetwood Mac
    Garter game – Lets get it on – Jack Black
    Otherwise we had a band my little bro organised. They were so freakin awesome!!!! Not 1 Culture Club song either :OP

    Like

  3. Wowzers! These down under weddings have the coolest playlists. Or maybe ours was daggy because we’re just old farts! I walked down the aisle to Love is All Around (Wet, Wet, Wet) we signed the register to “My first, my last, my everything” (Barry White) and had our first dance to “Flying without wings” (Westlife.) It was so cheesy but so good, and if I got the chance to do it all again, I wouldn’t change a single song! We made up for it at the reception though, we had a rock band who were totally rad and restored all my street cred!

    Like

    • Nothing daggy about those choices at all Sammie. I love that wet wet wet song. I think it actually held some kind of record for number of weeks spent at number 1! I’m adding them to the playlist right now! Thanks for sharing! Xx

      Like

  4. I walked down the aisle to Call to Arms by the Dropkick Murphys- it’s a punk version of Scotland the Brave 🙂 After the ceremony we had Down to My Soul by Paul Kelly- (but the version was sung by his nephew, Dan Kelly). We entered the reception to All You Need is Love by The Beatles and our first dance was to Stand By Me- Ben E King. The first dance song was really meaningful for us both- Stand By Me is the first movie we watched together, I got hubby to read the book and we’d been through some really awful, rough times and stood by each other. Love reading what others had! Great post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

