I heart music: Workout Playlists

Hi Everyone!

If January is the month of New Years Resolutions, then February must be the month for breaking them.

Time to check in on all those health and fitness resolutions. How are you tracking?

To help you on your way, I thought I’d share my go-to running/workout playlists… the tunes that get me through those gruelling gym sessions, runs, yoga practice or simply help me clean the house.

Workout playlists

Music is an absolute MUST for me when exercising. If I don’t have a mix of fast, sometimes heavy, upbeat, mood boosting tunes right in my ear, I’m just not all that motivated and it all becomes a bit of a chore.

According to my Huz, most of my ‘Run to Paradise’ playlist makes him want to stop living. Yep, he actually said that! Ok, so it may contain some questionable pop tunes and um… wham. But this is a guy who likes to listen to slow songs that tell a story when he runs. He says he likes the distraction. And he also listens to the cricket sometimes… whilst running. Urghh, Snooze! It’s boring enough on TV!

For me, the right song at the right time can inspire me to sprint the last couple of minutes, or get me through that last set. Even if it is daggy 80’s pop or Taylor Swift.

Taylor Swift

I also love listening to music during yoga and I’ve been loving the playlist {link below} from Strala Yoga. Tara Stiles is my yoga hero {and girl crush}, a model turned yoga instructor and founder of Strala Yoga in New York City with an awesome approach to yoga, of which music is a big part. She doesn’t follow any particular yoga discipline and focuses purely on its physical aspects and health benefits. Not that I don’t like the traditional and spiritual side of yoga, I actually really love that too, but I do find Tara’s approach quite refreshing.

So, here’s my Run to Paradise playlist and a few others I follow and listen to regularly:

1. Run to Paradise – featuring 46 songs {3 hours} to get you moving!

2. Pop sugar ab workout mix

3. Champagne Cartel Running Songs – The lovely ladies at Champagne Cartel put together this epic, 8 hour playlist. One of my current faves!

4. The Glow’s 20 most popular workout songs right now. About a year old but still a goodie.

5.  Tara’s Strala strong Summer 2013 – Yoga tunes with a difference.

6. And for a bit of girl power, you can’t go past this one, also from PopSugar – Single Ladies playlist.

If these don’t float your boat, try a quick search on Pinterest. There’s a workout playlist for everyone, and I mean EVERYONE! A country music fitness playlist, a Christian workout playlist, a pissed off workout playlist AND even a Disney workout playlist!

I’d love to hear what your fave work out tunes and/or playlists are.

Share in the comments below.

Shannon xx pink

27 thoughts on “I heart music: Workout Playlists

  1. I’m also one of those people who can’t run or workout without music. Love the look of those playlists – I think it’s time for me to move with the times and start to uncover the modern mystery that is Spotify! Some of my favourite tracks are those big hits from the 80s including Eye of the Tiger, Flashdance and Living on a Prayer! Music makes me move better, i’m sure of it!

    Like

  2. Thanks for putting these together and helping me cheat. I’m not running at the moment but need some tunes for my walking. Love it. M xx

    Like

  3. This is awesome!! I’d never thought of googling playlists before. I need to workout to music too when I’m solo. With a PT I can manage without as I have the trainer as a distraction. My workout regime for the year so far is dismal!! going in the opposite direction 😦 I’m desperately seeking motivation! Jx

    Like

  4. I love that you have some classic old songs to get you moving! My tastes changes so often what to run to it drives me nuts! When I need to clear my head I quite like running to London Grammer – I just drift away and feel completely cleansed afterwards 🙂 I so need to that again! Great post lovely xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

