I Heart Christmas Movies

Christmas time certainly changes once little people come along.

Gone are the days of waking up Christmas morning hungover as hell, rising to eat the most epic meal you will eat all year with relatives you haven’t seen all year.

It becomes something incredibly special. It brings back memories from your own childhood and it’s like you get to re-live it all over again, only through the eyes of those little people who mean the world to you. It really is magical {even if there are a few lies involved}

One of the things that I adored about my hubby when we first met was that he LOVED all things Christmas as much as I did. The lights, the carols, the decorations and of course the movies. Rare for a guy, {especially the carols}… and one of the reasons I knew he was a keeper πŸ™‚

Early on we started a tradition of watching as many of our fave Christmas Movies as we could in the lead up to the Big day. We make date nights, and sit down with the tree lights sparkling, candles burning with a bottle of wine and watch everything from our favourite kiddy Christmas Movies, to the classics and everything in between. I know… Romance πŸ˜‰

So as December approaches, we will be kicking off The Annual Morrow Christmas Movie Festival and I thought I’d share some of our favourites (in no particular order).

  • Love Actually
  • Miracle on 34th Street
  • The Santa Claus – The Movie
  • Gremlins
  • Home Alone
  • The Santa Clause
  • Christmas with the Kranks
  • The Grinch
  • The Holiday
  • National Lampoons Christmas Vacation
  • Bad Santa
  • The Polar Express
  • Die Hard
  • Elf

Did I miss any?

Don’t have time for Christmas Movies… watch this Ultimate Christmas Movie Supercut instead

What’s your favourite Christmas Movie?

Do you have any fun family Christmas Traditions?

Will you wake Christmas morning with a hangover?

image

29 thoughts on “I Heart Christmas Movies

  1. What an awesome tradition! I particularly like Die Hard in there ha ha! I still love The Muppets Christmas Carol- I would watch that every year as a kid. x

    Like

    • Oh yeah… do not like that tradition one bit!
      And we’ve done it again this year – We’ve bought the kids bikes that need to be put together! Here’s hoping Huz is more organised this year and doesn’t leave it till xmas eve! xx

      Like

  2. Hmmm…maybe my taste in Christmas movies is a little off…my all time favourite Christmas movie is Tim Burton’s Nightmare before Christmas…it just doesn’t feel like Christmas until I see it. Not sure its the most child-appropriate film, however…
    Love Actually is probably the best Christmas movie that has ever been made though!

    Like

  3. Love Actually would have to be one of my all time faves…not just at Christmas too! And I love Miracle on 34th Street (both the old and the new). So many good ones in that list Shannon. And yes…I sit through Die Hard. It’s hubs favourite as well! Enjoy your viewing

    Like

  4. Omg Same!!!! And I am totally doing a blog post on this too!!! Are we livin parallel lives? My hubby and are massive Christmas fans and I think that is one of the reasons we are married too! I cannot however condone Die Hard! Not a Bruce fan!

    Like

  5. No hangover thankfully (I don’t think!!) I’ll have 2 very excited kids on my hands. Christmas Day is spent with my in Laws this year and we’ll be on the waterfront enjoying some seafood and hot ham and turkey! Yay! I hope there will be a cold glass of champagne somewhere in amongst there too! Jx
    P.S Love actually would be up there in my top christmas movies

    Like

  6. Always love Home Alone, Love Actually and The Holiday. Also for a bit of animated fun really like Arthur Christmas. Only just watched The Polar Express for the first time last week. Will have to give Die Hard a run, I can’t remember it at all. Dare I say it, maybe I have never seen Die Hard!!!

    Like

  7. Oh my god, this is the BEST Christmas tradition ever. That’s it, I’ve decided my husband and I are starting this tomorrow night.
    I love The Holiday and Love Actually (of course). But I’m also a huge fan of the kids christmas movies like Frosty and Rudolph – you know the live action animation types ones? Anyone know the ones I’m talking about? They make me feel like it’s christmas because they were always on on Christmas morning when I was little. LOVE CHRISTMAS!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

